Dukkhaboy

Have felt worse

Ego and Meditation

Leave a comment

I found an old notebook of mine this week. I was using it while at Samye Ling Monastery in Scotland over the Easter of 1996. Akong Rinpoché was giving a course (I didn’t write down the title) and on 1st April 19 years ago he said something that is absolutely true for me today in July 2015

At the start Rinpoché said he hoped the course would enable “more friendliness, happiness, compassion, understanding and humility. He said that meditation could achieve this, but the ego could undo it. (I think that ego here means putting myself first and thinking of increasing my own happiness and decreasing my own unhappiness before thinking of the happiness of others.) He went to explain that“Any progress made by meditation can be destroyed by ego as meditation is for half an hour and there are 23 and a half hours left in the day for the ego to dominate.” (my phrasing of my notes of his words, so certainly not an accurate record)

Which is why 1) my favourite part of meditating in the morning is when I notice myself being mindful at another time during the dayand 2)why at the moment I do so like this prayer The 4 Immeasurables taught by Buddha to his son Rahula.

“May all beings have happiness and the causes for happiness,

May all be free from suffering and the causes of suffering,

May all never be separate from the sacred happiness which is free of suffering

And may all live in equality without too much aversion or too much attachment.”

 

Leave a Reply

